Song by Theodore Roethke

 
My wrath, where’s the edge
Of the find shapely thought
That I carried so long
When so young, when so young?

My rage, what’s to be
The soul’s privilege?
Will the heart eat the heart?
What’s to come?  What’s to come?

O love, you who hear
The slow tick of time
In your sea-buried ear,
Tell me now, tell me now.

 

My Heart asks Pleasure – first (536) by Emily Dickinson 

 

My Heart asks Pleasure – first

And then – excuse from pain –

And then – those little Adonynes

That deaden suffering –

And then – to go to sleep –

And then – if it should be

The will of its Inquisitor

The privilege to die – 

 

* * * * * 

I read two poems separately, however, arranged them together considering emotional stage.  There are certain curves of speaker’s status of mind.  Will ‘love’ tell ‘me’ what’s to come?  If the answer is given by E. Dickinson, the speaker of the poem Song would be very disappointed.  And I would not look forward to anything at all if the soul’s privilege is only to die.  I am very lucky since I read Emily Dickinson’s poem first and then Theodore Roethke’s one later. 

pleasurepainanodynessleepthe privilege to diemy wrathmy rageo love

 

 

* * * * *

에밀리 디킨슨의 저 시는 읽을 때마다 슬퍼진다.  처음에는 기쁨을 갈구하던 마음이 고통이나 없었으면 한다.  그러나 살다보니 덜컥 고통 속에 처하게 마련이었고, ‘그래요-  그래야만 한다면 그 고통을 이겨낼 수 있게 진통제라도’ 달라고 한다.  고통을 좀 죽일 수 있을만한 뭐 어떤-  마음의 진정제 같은 것.

진통제도 없는 삶.  삶의 고통은 누그러들지 않았나보다.  ‘휴, 그렇담 잠이나…’  하다가 드는 생각은, ‘자신의 고통 충만한 삶에 닥치는 것들이 어느 심판관의 뜻이라면 죽을 수 있는 특권을 부탁해야겠다’는 것이다.  The Heart asks Pleasure – first –  마지막에 붙은 저 ‘first’.  처음에나 기뻐할 희망이 있었던 것.  이건 안 슬플 수가 없다.   

